When it comes to looking out for the safety of your family and yourself, car insurance is probably somewhere very close to the top of your list. Like the rest of the states in America, car insurance is a necessary evil when it comes to being a legal, responsible driver.
If this is your first time purchasing auto insurance in North Carolina then you probably have a few questions that need to be answered so that you can make your best-informed decision and pick the plan that is right for your family and for your wallet.
Is North Carolina an At-Fault State?
Yes, it is. North Carolina laws allow insurance companies to use fault for a car accident to deny payment of claims. This means that you are considered to be the driver who is ultimately responsible for the accident as a whole through your negligent or careless actions.
The state has one of America’s strictest contributory negligence laws. Contributory negligence laws are what stop the victim from collecting any damages if they are found to be even a tiny bit at fault for the accident.
If the other driver’s insurance adjuster disputes the liability after an auto accident or says that you share blame for the accident, then you need to speak with a personal injury attorney about your rights. A personal injury attorney will be able to negotiate the best settlement.
Do I Need to Have Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
Yes, you do. Uninsured motorist coverage is required and will most likely be paired with your liability coverage, which is also required by law. This type of coverage is designed to protect you in the event that you are in an accident with a driver that has no car insurance. It also protects you in the event of a hit and run accident. The minimum amount of this insurance that a driver can carry is $30,000 bodily injury coverage for each person, $60,000 total bodily injury for all persons in an accident and $25,000 for property damage.
Am I Still Covered If I Have to Travel Out of State?
Yes, you are. All reputable insurance carriers have something called a “liberalization clause” which means that your current policy, as long as it satisfies the requirements of your home state, automatically meets the requirements of any other state you may travel to.
This also applies if you should happen to get into an accident in a “no-fault” accident state where drivers are typically required to carry personal injury protection insurance as well. This helps to pay for any injuries they may sustain from the accident regardless of who is found to be at fault.
North Carolina Car Accident Attorney
Making sure that you have enough insurance coverage to comply with North Carolina laws and to make sure that you will be protected if you are ever in an accident is a vital part of being a responsible driver. This is also the best way to ensure that you are able to collect on any damages the law says that you are owed in the event of an automobile accident.
We here at the Nye Law Group have a team of experienced personal injury attorneys who have years of practice handling these types of cases here in North Carolina. If you would like to speak to one of our hard-working attorneys regarding a free consultation after your car accident, then please give us a call at (912) 200-5230 today.